What are sanctuary jurisdictions (city/county/state) and sanctuary policies?

  • Sanctuary jurisdictions are places where illegal immigrants are shielded from identification and removal by federal immigration authorities.
  • Sanctuary policies are laws, ordinances, resolutions, executive actions, or any initiatives that prohibit the use of local funds or resources to enforce federal immigration laws. Common practices also include:
  • Not permitting local government agents, including law enforcement officials, to inquire about immigration or citizenship status
  • Not permitting local government agents, including law enforcement officials, to collect or disseminate information about immigration or citizenship status
  • Restricting local law enforcement officials from cooperating with federal immigration authorities

Download PDF

Action 1.1 (before 2/11/2020)Email House Judiciary Committee Members Against HB0388/HB0403

House Judiciary CommitteeEmailTelephone
Chair: Clippinger, Luke (D-D46-BCity)luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us410-841-3488 | 301-858-3488
Vice Chair: Atterbeary, Vanessa E (D-D13-HoC)Vanessa.Atterbeary@house.state.md.us410-841-3471 | 301-858-3471
Anderson, Curt (D-D43-BCity)curt.anderson@house.state.md.us410-841-3291 | 301-858-3291
Arikan, Lauren (R-D7-BC/HaC)lauren.arikan@house.state.md.us410-841-3334 | 301-858-3334
Bartlett, J Sandy (D-D32-AAC)sandy.bartlett@house.state.md.us410-841-3370 | 301-858-3370
Cardin, Jon S (D-D11-BC)jon.cardin@house.state.md.us410-841-3054 | 301-858-3054
Conway, Frank M, Jr (D-D40-BCity)frank.conaway@house.state.md.us410-841-3189 | 301-858-3189
Cox, Daniel L (R-D4-FC/CaC)dan.cox@house.state.md.us410-841-3288 | 301-858-3288
Crutchfield, Charlotte (D-D19-MC)charlotte.crutchfield@house.state.md.us410-841-3485 | 301-858-3485
Davis, Debra (D-D28-ChC)debra.davis@house.state.md.us410-841-3337 | 301-858-3337
Fisher, Wanika (D-D47B-PGC)wanika.fisher@house.state.md.us410-841-3340 | 301-858-3340

Download PDF